Is the Library a Pluto in the Local Solar System?

March 9, 2007 § Leave a comment

I’m working on an article about libraries’ role in the flow of local information throughout their communities. When I showed it to my wife she said she liked my “little solar system” diagram. She was referring to this diagram that kind of gives an overview of the local information landscape I try to describe:

local-solar-system11.jpg

As we discussed it, her comments got me thinking… certainly the main issue was that if I only possessed the tiniest bit more skill, I could have made a spiffier looking diagram. But beyond that, how accurate is the diagram? More to the point: as a librarian and a library fan, am I giving libraries too much credit? Is the library more like Pluto in this local solar system? A much smaller planet, way out on the fringe. Something more like this:

local-solar-system21.jpg

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Is the Library a Pluto in the Local Solar System? at Dewey & Main.

meta

